Agenda

Ukrainian Culture at Risk - Again: A Conservator's Perspective - Online

18 - 19 August 2022
Presentation on the destruction of artefacts and monuments of Ukraine's cultural heritage: under Stalin in the 1930s, during WWII, and now in the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Ukrainian History and Education Center, Somerset (New Jersey) - 19:00 (ET). 01:00 (3/8, CET), 02:00 (3/8 Kyiv time).

More information here.

StalinismCultureWebinarWWIIUSSRRussian invasion

Russia's 'denazification' of Ukraine: The weaponization of antisemitism in contemporary hybrid conflict - Online

28 August 2022
Debate with Israeli Haaretz journalist Sam Sokol.

Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism, Bloomington (Indiana) - 12:00 (ET), 18:00 (CET), 19:00 (Kyiv time).

More information here.

JewishWebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

Ukrainian Writers Speak! - Online

6 September 2022
Presentation by the editors of "Love in Defiance of Pain", a collection of stories by contemporary Ukrainian authors.

City Lights Booksellers & Publishers, San Francisco - 18:00 (Pacific time), 03:00 (CET), 04:00 (Kyiv time).

More information here.

LiteratureWebinarDebate/Lecture

How do historians make sense of the present: Reflecting on the Russo-Ukrainian war - Online

12 September 2022
How do historians use the past to understand a present, ongoing event like Russia's criminal war against Ukraine? 

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.

More information here.

HistoryWebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

The City of Dreams: Jewish Odessa - Online

13 September 2022
A virtual stroll through Odessa to meet its Jewish community.

Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, New York - 19:00 (ET), 01:00 (CET), 02:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.

More information here.

JewishWebinarOdesa

Guerre en Ukraine : conséqences pour l'oecuménisme - Online

14 September 2022
Will Western christians open themselves to Ukrainian orthodox believers, now that the Russian orthodox church has chiosen to back Putin's war against Ukraine?

Institut Catholique de Paris university - 18:30 (CET), 19:30 (Kyiv time).

More information here.

ReligionWebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

Jewish Intellectuals of Odessa - Online

21 September 2022
Presentation on the Jewish intellectuals from tsarist Odesa of the Enlightenment and Zionist movement.

Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, New York - 19:00 (ET), 01:00 (CET), 02:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.

More information here.

JewishWebinarOdesa

The return of history: The Russo-Ukrainian war through the eyes of a historian - Online

26 September 2022
Historian Serhii Plokhy on the historical causes of the conflict, and on the misuse and abuse of history in the perpetration and justification of this war.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

HistoryWebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

Digital activist communities, contemporary Ukrainian studies, and the making of the February 24th Archive - Online

3 Oktober 2022
Prof. Steven Seegel on his work as geo-historian, monitor of citizen-journalists and OSINT communities, and assembler of a digital archive of the Russian invasion.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

HistoryWebinarRussian invasionDebate/LectureData

The meaning of the Maidan: Looking back at the Revolution of Dignity eight years later - Online

10 Oktober 2022
Yale University Historian Marci Shore discusses how the EuroMaidan of 2013-2014 made fear dissappear and brought together Ukrainians of all walks of life.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

WebinarEuromaidanDebate/Lecture

Odessa During WWII - Online

20 Oktober 2022
Retracing the Holocaust and the WWII German and Romanian occupation of Odessa. 

Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, New York - 19:00 (ET), 01:00 (CET), 02:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.

More information here.

HolocaustJewishWebinarWWIIOdesa

The Ukrainian war-time discourse: self-image, enemy alien, and cultural mobilization - Online

24 Oktober 2022
On the perceptions of Ukrainians of themselves as a people, of the terrors of war, the Russian invaders, and of Ukraine as a nation-state in a broad socio-political context.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

WebinarRussian invasionDebate/LectureSocial sciences

Military history and Russia's war on Ukraine - Online

31 Oktober 2022
How the study of military history helps to understand the events of Russia's war on Ukraine.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

HistoryDefenceWebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

Historians push back: Countering Putin's distortion and manipulation of the past - Online

7 November 2022
Why it is critical for historians to push back against Putinist disinformation, not least in the manipulation and distortion of the past.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

HistoryDisinformationWebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

Writing history, narrating war - Online

14 November 2022
Historian and Director of the Ukrainian Institute London Olesya Khromeychuk talks about her professional and personal experiences to help explain Russia's war in Ukraine.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

WebinarRussian invasionDebate/Lecture

How history writes the present: A conversation with Anne Applebaum - Online

28 November 2022
Journalist and historian Anne Applebaum discusses how her studies on Soviet Eastern Europe informs her understanding of Russia's criminal war on Ukraine.

George Mason University, Fairfax (Virginia) - 15:00 (ET), 21:00 (CET), 22:00 (Kyiv time) via Zoom.
More information here.

HistoryWebinarUSSRRussian invasionDebate/Lecture