Cultural & Civil Society agenda

Beyond the Protest Square: Augmented Dissent in Ukraine's Euromaidan - Facebook live

29 September 2021
Book discussion on how citizens used digital social media during the EuroMaidan revolution.

Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute, Harvard (Mass., USA) - 22:00 CET, 23:00 Kyiv time.

More information here.

WebinarEuromaidanPolitics

Russian Disinformation and Cyber Wars: Lessons from Ukraine - Zoom

29 September 2021
The disinformation, propaganda and cyber wars between Russia and the West, seen with a focus from Ukraine.

Princeton University, New Jersey - Zoom: 16:30 US ET, 22:30 CET, 23:30 Kyiv time.

More information here.

DisinformationRussiaWebinarGeopolitics

What is Not Lost. Jewish Culture and History in Ukraine Today - online

29 September 2021
Presentation of projects to reanimate the Jewish heritage of Lviv and eastern Galicia.

Fulbright Ukraine & America House Kyiv - 

More information here.

HistoryCultureJewishLviv oblastLvivWebinar

80 years since Babyn Yar: Ukrainian-Jewish shared past in literature - online

30 September 2021
Discussion on how the 1941 Holocaust murders at Babyn Yar is represented in literature.

Ukrainian Institute London - online, 19:30 CET, 20:30 Kyiv time.

More information here.

HistoryHolocaustJewishLiteratureWWII

Babi Yar: Marking the 80th Anniversary of the Tragedy - Webcast

30 September 2021
Discussion on the state of knowledge on the massacre of Jewish inhabitants of Kyiv at Babyn Yar in 1941, amd how to commemorate them.

Wilson Center, Washington DC - online, 10:00 ET, 16:00 CET, 17:00 Kyiv time.

More information here.

HistoryHolocaustJewishWebinarWWII

Oekraïne: Cultuurhistorische ontdekking van het grensland - Travel to Ukraine

1 - 13 Oktober 2021
Cultural travel trip from Amsterdam to Kyiv, Odessa, Chernivtsi, Lviv, the Carpathian mountains and Moldova with travel guide Karel Onwijn (in Dutch).

Labrys Reizen.

More information here.

TourismKyivLvivOdessaCarpathianChernivtsiTravel

Dr. Wendy Lower: A single photograph reveals a crime of the Holocaust - Online seminar

7 Oktober 2021
Historian Wendy Lower uncovers the story behind a photo of a Jewish family executed in WW2 Ukraine.

Gross Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies, Ramapo College, New Jersey - online.

More information here.

(Time: 6 October 19:00 Eastern Standard Time, 7 October 01:00 Central European Time)

HistoryHolocaustWebinarWWII

Ukraïnian Film Festival Berlin - online

7 Oktober 2021
Presentation of Ukrainian feature and short films, both on screen and online.

Ukraïnian Film Festival Berlin/Plivka Films, Berlin, Stuttgart, online.

More information here.

FilmCulture

Groot Omroepkoor plays Maxim Shalygin - Utrecht

8 Oktober 2021
Netherlands Radio Choir plays religious music by Liszt, Bruckner, Dvořák, and a premiere by Dutch-Ukrainian composer Maxim Shalygin.

TivoliVredenburg/Jacobikerk, Utrecht.

More information here.

MusicClassical

Ukraine's Military in a Changing Global Context - online

9 Oktober 2021
Discussion on the Ukrainian army's experience in the Donbas conflict and in international operations.

Ukrainian Youth Association of Canada & League of Ukrainian Canadians - online: 18:00 CET, 19:00 Kyiv time.

More information here.

Donbas conflictDefenceWebinarInternational security

Free screening of film "Stop Zemlya" (2021) - online

14 - 24 Oktober 2021
Coming-of-age teen film drama by Ukrainian director Kateryna Gornostai.

European Film Festival 2021, South Africa - online.

More information here.

Film

International Symphony Orchestra Lviv & National choir Dumka: Carmina Burana

3 - 24 November 2021
Ukrainian orchestra and choir offer one of the largest interpretations ever of Carl Orff's 1937 masterpiece.
On tour in the Netherlands.
Concert dates here.
MusicClassicalCultureChoir

Concert: Severade by Maxim Shalygin (Maya Fridman & Cello Octet Amsterdam) - Den Bosch

14 November 2021
Dutch-Ukrainian composer Maxim Shalygin presents his latest piece for cello's and newly invented instruments. 

November Music festival, Den Bosch.

More information here.

MusicClassical

Concert: Severade by Maxim Shalygin (Maya Fridman & Cello Octet Amsterdam) - Utrecht

3 December 2021
Dutch-Ukrainian composer Maxim Shalygin presents his latest piece for cello's and newly invented instruments. 

TivoliVredenburg/Hertz, Utrecht.

More information here.

MusicClassical

All-in Gaming Ukraine Summit - Kyiv

24 - 25 February 2022
Summit for the gaming industry following the legalisation of gambling in Ukraine.
Eventus International, Kyiv.

More information here.

BusinessGaming

ICEF Ukraine Focus - Kyiv & online

21 - 22 March 2022
Meeting between international education and service providers with student recruitment agents from ten Ukrainian cities. 
InterContinental, Kyiv.

More information here.

Education

Invictus Games - The Hague

16 - 22 April 2022
International sports competition for wounded or disabled army personnel, with participants from Ukraine.
Various locations, The Hague.
More information here.
CultureSportsWar veterans

Third Annual Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Studies Conference at Indiana University

25 - 27 May 2022
Third Annual Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Studies Conference.

Indiana University, Bloomington (USA).

More information here.

Ukrainology

Park festival - Kyiv

19 June - 17 July 2022
Rock festival with The Offspring, Gorillaz, Deftones, My Chemical Romance a.o.

Sky Family Park, Kyiv.

More information here.

MusicRock